Forex Market Hours

Choose Timezone
Your Time
Sydney

Sydney

9:00 PM Mon Nov. 14th
Tokyo

Tokyo

9:00 PM Mon Nov. 14th
London

London

9:00 PM Mon Nov. 14th
New York

New York

9:00 PM Mon Nov. 14th

Sydney

Sydney Market is Open

Market Opens: 7:00 AM (LOCAL TIME) 4:00 PM (EST) 9:00 PM (UTC)

Market Closes: 4:00 PM (LOCAL TIME) 1:00 AM (EST) 6:00 AM (UTC)

Tokyo

Tokyo Market is Open

Market Opens: 9:00 AM (LOCAL TIME) 7:00 PM (EST) 12:00 AM (UTC)

Market Closes: 6:00 PM (LOCAL TIME) 4:00 AM (EST) 9:00 AM (UTC)

London

London Market is Open

Market Opens: 8:00 AM (LOCAL TIME) 2:00 AM (EST) 7:00 AM (UTC)

Market Closes: 5:00 PM (LOCAL TIME) 11:00 AM (EST) 4:00 PM (UTC)

New York

New York Market is Open

Market Opens: 8:00 AM (LOCAL TIME) 8:00 AM (EST) 1:00 PM (UTC)

Market Closes: 5:00 PM (LOCAL TIME) 5:00 PM (EST) 10:00 PM (UTC)

About this tool


The forex market opens and closes at different times depending on the local time difference. Use the Forex Market Time Zone Converter tool above to view the open and close times of the main forex trading sessions in your own local time zone.

Successful traders execute their trades when there is a lot of market activity from different regions.

How to use this tool

There are four main forex trading markets that represent the bulk of forex trades executed every day. The main trading sessions are: the Sydney session, the Tokyo session, the London session, and the New York session. Understanding when these markets will open and close gives traders an edge in predicting when there will be enough liquidity in the market to execute certain trades.

The best time to trade forex

The best time to trade is when there are a lot of traders on the market executing trades. For example; the best time to trade USD/JPY currencies will be when both the Tokyo session and New York sessions are active.

There are five currencies that make up the major pairs with high liquidity. These are the most traded currencies as of 2022.

  • EUR/USD (Euro/US Dollar)
  • USD/JPY (US Dollar/Japanese Yen)
  • GBP/USD (British Pound/US Dollar)
  • AUD/USD (Australian Dollar/US Dollar)
  • USD/CAD (US Dollar/Canadian Dollar)

When the market moves up and down, it is generally easier to make money trading. But when the market doesn't move at all, you will have a hard time trying to make money. Professional traders tend to focus their efforts on certain periods of the trading day when there is a large volume of trades (also known as, high liquidity or increased volatility periods).